Sydney – Port Macquarie – Sydney, 9-13 OCTOBER 1974

Andrew Cowan, the Scottish international star — together with leading Australian navigator John Bryson, and Mitsubishi Lancer — proved his complete domination of the Total Oil Southern Cross International Rally by winning the event for the third successive time, and his fourth win in the event’s nine year history. Once again he outstayed all opposition, including the powerful challenge by Nissan, with Sweden’s Harry Kallstrom heading this team in a Datsun 7l0SSS. A record overseas contingency took part in the rally, for as well as Cowan and Kallstrom, Joginder Singh again came across from Kenya, there was one entry from New Caledonia, four from New Zealand and eight from Japan.

Directed by Dan White the 1974 Total Oil Southern Cross Rally followed its now familiar pattern of starting in Sydney and then being based at Port Macquarie, from where loops were made each night into the surrounding forests. Ten starters fronted the final night and of these only seven finished — The Magnificent Seven, as they were dubbed by the media.

lst: Andrew Cowan (Scotland)/John Bryson (N.S.W.), Mitsubishi Lancer, 209 pts
2nd: Joginder Singh (Kenya)/Gary Connelly (Qld), Mitsubishi Lancer, 272 pts
3rd: Tatsuo Yaginuma (Japan)/Haruo Okada (Japan), Toyota Toreno, 441 pts
4th: George Fury (Vic)/Monty Suffern (Vic), Datsun l80BSSS, 1051 pts
5th: Yoshio Iwashita(Japan)/Nobuhiro Yasuoka(Japan), Datsun 710SSS, 2021 pts
6th: Robert Jackson (NSW)/Ross Jackson (NSW), Torana XUl, 2528 pts
7th: John Munro (Vic)/Walter Harris (Vic), Datsun 1600, 3708 pts
Manufacturer Team:Nil
Ladies: Nil